

Working in partnership with Eastbourne Homes

Annual Council

Minutes of meeting held in Court Room at Eastbourne Town Hall, Grove Road, BN21 4UG on 21 May 2019 at 6.00 pm

Present:

Gill Mattock (Mayor in the chair)

Councillors Caroline Ansell, Margaret Bannister, Colin Belsey, Helen Burton, Sammy Choudhury, Penny di Cara, Peter Diplock, Jonathan Dow, Tony Freebody, Stephen Holt, Jane Lamb, Robin Maxted, Paul Metcalfe, Md. Harun Miah, Amanda Morris, Colin Murdoch, Jim Murray, Pat Rodohan, Dean Sabri, Alan Shuttleworth, Robert Smart, Colin Swansborough, Barry Taylor, David Tutt, Steve Wallis, Candy Vaughan and Rebecca Whippy.

Officers in attendance:

Robert Cottrill (Chief Executive), Peter Finnis (Assistant Director for Corporate Governance) and Sarah Lawrence (Senior Committee Officer).

1 Election of Mayor.

It was proposed by Councillor Dow and seconded by Councillor Bannister that Councillor Steve Wallis be elected as Mayor for the municipal year 2019/20.

It was accordingly:-

RESOLVED (unanimously) – That Councillor Steve Wallis be elected Mayor for the 2019/20 municipal year and until the election of the Mayor at the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

Councillor Wallis then made the statutory declaration of acceptance of office as Mayor and took the chair. In his speech of acceptance, the Mayor advised that his nominated charity for 2019/20 would be 'People Matter'.

2 Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were made.

3 Minutes of the meeting of Council held on 20 February 2019.

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 20 February 2019, were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Mayor, subject to a correction to minute 48, replacing Councillor Smith with Councillor Smart in the list of Councillors voting against the motion.

4 Notification of apologies for absence.

There were no apologies to report.

5 Appointment of Deputy Mayor.

It was proposed by Councillor Miah and seconded by Councillor Sabri that Councillor Sammy Choudhury be appointed as Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2019/20.

It was accordingly:-

RESOLVED (unanimously) – That Councillor Sammy Choudhury be appointed as Deputy Mayor for the 2019/20 municipal year.

Councillor Choudhury then made the statutory declaration of acceptance of office as Deputy Mayor. In his speech of acceptance, the Deputy Mayor advised that Rumi Choudhury and Rugi Choudhury would act as the Deputy Mayor's consorts for the year.

6 Investiture of Mayor's Consort.

The Mayor reported that Richard Chappell and Debra Williams would act as the Mayor's consorts for the 2019/20 municipal year.

7 Mayor's Chaplain - Notification of Appointment.

The Mayor reported that Reverend Mike Blanch would serve as the Mayor's Chaplain for the municipal year 2019/20.

8 Election of Leader of the Council and Chair of Cabinet (For the 4-Year Term until May 2023).

It was proposed by Councillor Shuttleworth and seconded by Councillor Whippy that Councillor David Tutt be elected as Leader of the Council.

RESOLVED (unanimously) - That Councillor Tutt be elected as Leader of the Council and Cabinet Chair for a 4-year term of office until May 2023, to continue until a new Leader is elected.

9 Borough Elections 2019 - Returning Officer report.

The Council received the report of the Chief Executive and Returning Officer setting out the results of the elections held on 2 May 2019, and the Councillors elected until May 2023 as follows:

Ward:	Councillor: (*newly elected)
Devonshire	Margaret BANNISTER
	Steve HOLT
	Steve WALLIS
Hampden Park	James MURRAY
	Dean SABRI
	Colin SWANSBOROUGH
Langney Meads	
	Candy VAUGHAN*
	Jane LAMB* Robert SMART
Old Town	Barry TAYLOR Peter DIPLOCK*
	Jonathan DOW
	Amanda MORRIS*
Ratton	Colin BELSEY
	Tony FREEBODY
	Colin MURDOCH
St Anthony's	Helen BURTON*
	David TUTT
	Rebecca WHIPPY*
Sovereign	Caroline ANSELL*
	Penny DI CARA
	Paul METCALFE
Upperton	Sammy CHOUDHURY
	Robin MAXTED*
	Pat RODOHAN

It was proposed by Councillor Tutt and seconded by Councillor Freebody and accordingly:

RESOLVED (unanimously)-

- a) That the Returning Officer's report be noted;
- b) That all new members be congratulated and welcomed onto the Council;
- c) That all returning members of the Council be congratulated on being returned for a further term; and
- d) That all retiring and outgoing members of the Council be thanked for their service:

Gordon Jenkins Margaret Robinson Kathy Ballard Pat Hearn Troy Tester Janet Coles John Ungar Gill Mattock

10 Executive Arrangements.

The Leader of the Council (Councillor Tutt) announced that:

The Councillors to serve on Cabinet and the Councillor appointed as Deputy Leader of the Council (and Deputy Chair of the Cabinet) and respective areas of responsibility for each member of Cabinet would be as set out in the schedule attached (Minutes Appendix 1) for the municipal year 2019/20;

It was noted that the terms of reference and constitution of the Cabinet continued as set out in the Council's constitution.

11 Appointments to Committees, Other Bodies, Outside Bodies and Boards, and appointment of Chairs and Deputy Chairs.

The Council noted the report of the Assistant Director – Corporate Governance on the political balance and the allocation of seats prepared in consultation with Group Leaders.

Councillor Tutt proposed and Councillor Freebody seconded the proposals for allocations to Committees, other bodies, boards and appointment of Chairs and Deputy Chairs, as set out in the Appendix to the report and tabled addendum.

Councillor Tutt proposed and Councillor Shuttleworth seconded the proposals for allocations to Outside Bodies, as set out in the Appendix to the report and tabled addendum.

RESOLVED (unanimous):

- That the number and allocation of seats and nominations be approved as set out in the schedule and addendum sheet circulated at the meeting (and attached as Minute Appendix 1);
- That the proposed appointment of Chairs and Deputy Chairs be approved as set out in the schedule and addendum sheet circulated at the meeting (and attached as Minute Appendix 1);
- That the following bodies be confirmed with terms of reference as set out in the Council's constitution and that they have a fixed membership, or members are appointed by the Chief Executive, Deputy Chief Executive or relevant Director as the need arises: Equality Steering Group, Council Panels, Recruitment Panels, Task Groups and Project Boards; and
- 4) That the proposed appointments of members and other persons to serve on Outside Bodies be approved as set out in the schedule and addendum sheet circulated at the meeting (and attached as Minute Appendix 1).

12 Annual Pay Policy Statement

Councillor Tutt moved and Councillor Shuttleworth seconded and it was:

RESOLVED (unanimously) – That the Annual Pay Policy Statement be approved.

13 Confirmation of Programme of Meetings for 2019/20

Councillor Tutt moved and Councillor Freebody seconded and it was:

RESOLVED (unanimously) – That the programme of meetings for all bodies in the municipal year 2019/20 be confirmed in accordance with the schedule circulated with the agenda for the meeting.

The meeting ended at 7.11 pm.

Councillor Steve Wallis The Mayor